Summer: Time to Chillax

I’m writing this post from my parents’  holiday apartment in Tenby, Pembrokeshire. I’m here for a few days with my two best friends – also teachers – for some chill time. The weather may be a bit pants but having a change of scene, especially away from the South East, and by the sea, is just what I needed after an exhausting end of term at school. I am, however, missing my husband a bit but I’ll see him tomorrow evening, which I’m looking forward to.

I’ve got a busy weekend planned: I’m (bizarrely) taking part in a plus size beauty pageant on Saturday in Brighton – don’t ask! On Sunday we’re dog sitting which means we’ll be walking a lot- can’t wait as it’s a good substitute for not having a dog of our own full time.

Next week however I have nothing planned, apart from a trip to the doctors to discuss potentially reducing my meds. The long term plan is to wean myself off my meds before we try for a baby. My GP has said that the process will take at least 6 months; I don’t want to rush it so I’m aiming for it to take even longer than that just to reduce the risk of relapse as much as I can.

And then we’re off on a cruise with my parents to Iceland; I’ve done cruises for over a decade but this is a totally new destination so I’m even more excited than normal. 

After the cruise I’ll start getting back into work mode; I’m going on a 2-night Sutton Trust residential for Biosciences teachers at Cambridge and then it’ll be GCSE results day which I’ll go into school for. Then I’ll have one more week which I’ll use for preparing for the new term.

What are your plans for the summer break?

Leave a Reply

