Procrastination

I have many skills; I am a master at procrastination. I can always think of something to do rather than work. Blogging is a good example of this. I’ve sat down with a cup of tea to plan some lessons for the first week back, and instead I’ve opened up WordPress and started writing this post. I’ve also tidied the dining table – it’s a permanent mess – ahead of my parents coming for dinner tomorrow evening, watched Tattoo Fixers and continued to pack for our cruise on Sunday.

This is the first time I’ve sat down to do work this holiday, and I’m proud of that. Despite what the general public and the media seem to think, we teachers deserve this long summer break – we work damn hard during term time. My Head of Department recognised this and point-blank refused to give us our Year 10 controlled assessments to work over the summer. Aside from a few lessons to plan I won’t be doing anything else; our new GCSE and Year 8 schemes of work were completed before the summer holidays.

I’m going away on Sunday for two weeks, then the day after I get back I’m off to Cambridge for a Sutton Trust residential. I’ll get the majority of my work done after I get back – I’ll probably go into work as I’ll get more done there – fewer distractions! And with that… work is calling!ahh-procrastination

Leave a Reply

