Long Time No Write!

Hi all! I’m so sorry that it’s been so long since my last post! I’d almost forgotten about this blog to be honest. A lot has happened since I last wrote on here.

I went through a bit of a rough patch at work last autumn/winter. I did badly in a couple of observations and that triggered a lot of drop-ins and an intervention period. I’m not going to lie – it was horrible. I hated going to work. I was so unhappy. I eventually left the school in the Spring term and started a new job after Easter.

My new school is about 5 minutes from my house so my morning commute is a lot easier! The Science department is great – very supportive. I’ve only had one proper observation during the whole term. A few members of SLT popped in from time to time, but nothing official. All of my classes were small intervention groups, which was a nice way to settle into a new school. I’ll have full classes from September.

The only major problem with the job is that I’m on a one-year contract to start with; the uncertainty is a tad unsettling and it means we can’t get a bigger mortgage until I’m made permanent. I’m finding this very frustrating as we can’t really get a dog or have a baby until we move to a house with a garden. One of my best friends is due to have her first baby in a couple of weeks time, and I’m more than a bit envious.

Of course the other obstacle stopping us from starting a family is my medication. The effects of quetiapine on babies in utero are not well documented but my GP has advised that I’m fully off it before trying for a baby, so that’s the plan. Last year, after my episode before our wedding, I reduced my dosage from 300 to 200mg but there’s still a way to go. My plan is to keep on my current dosage until at least October half term; I don’t want to decrease it when work will potentially get more stressful than it has been.

So that’s what’s been happening with me! At the moment I’m enjoying the summer holidays. I go away on a Mediterranean cruise a week tomorrow for a fortnight – can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

